< Back to drivers

Drivers 2019

Guy Botterill Driver

Guy Botterill was born on 5 May 1986, and has a passion for sport. After many years in various forms of circuit racing, including; karting, production cars, Polo Cup and Shelby Can Am, Botterill entered the world of Rally.

He made his debut in the motorsport world in a 60cc GP Junior at the age of 10 years. After two short years, he was awarded his provincial colours for Motorsport after winning the KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Championship in the GP Junior Class. Shortly thereafter, he moved up to a more powerful 100cc Stock Kart, where he was crowned Champion for the Provincial Championship, Inter-Provincial Championship, Club Championship and Zululand Championship for two consecutive years, and was re-awarded his Provincial Colours. 

After a successful run in the Stock Kart, Botterill moved on to the 100cc Super Karts, where he once again dominated the Season by winning the Provincial Championship and placing top three in South Africa. Guy ended his karting career by representing South Africa in Italy at the Karting World Championships.  

Straight out of school, Botterill moved into Class C of Production Cars where he quickly made his mark by winning Rookie of the Day four times, and finished the season in a remarkable 5th place.

Next came a stint in one of the most challenging and competitive classes on the main circuit, the Engen VW Polo Cup. In his first year in Polo Cup, Botterill was awarded the VW Polo Cup Rookie of the Year Award. With enough time in the seat, he started racing in the Shelby Can-Am series where he finished 4th in the South African Championship in his first year, and missed the title of South African Champion in his second year by 0.01 of a second. He did, however, receive the award for the most improved driver during his short time in the Shelby Can-Am series.

2011 welcomed Botterill into the South African National Rally Championship. Here he found himself amongst Motorsport Legends including Giniel De Villiers, Leeroy Poulter, Jan Habig, Enzo Kuun and Mark Cronje. Botterill has won the S1600/R2 South African Rally Championship four years on the trot, as well as winning the South African National Rally Championship for the first time in 2017. In 2014 he won the S1600 championship before the season was completed, and in 2016 won seven out of eight rounds of the championship. Guy Botterill was the first driver in a S1600 car to win a round of the FIA African Rally Championship in 2017.