< Back to news

News 2017

Toyota Gazoo Racing SA Ready to Take on 2017Mar 13, 2017

  • Toyota Gazoo Racing SA to compete in two rounds of the FIA World Cup for Cross Country Rallies
  • Silkway Rally, from Russia to China, also part of the team’s international commitments
  • Toyota Hilux to compete in Class FIA of South-African Cross Country Series
  • Defending South African Cross Country champions Leeroy Poulter and navigator Rob Howie all set for 2017
  • Dakar veteran Giniel de Villiers partners with former champion navigator Dennis Murphy for 2017
  • Defending champion Guy Botteril and navigator Simon Vacy-Lyle to campaign Toyota Gazoo Racing SA Etios in South African National Rally Championship

Having won both the South African Cross Country Championship and the South African National Rally Championship in 2016, Toyota Gazoo Racing SA is preparing their attack for the 2017 motorsport season. This year, the team will again be represented in both championships, and will also be competing on an international level.

Last year’s performance by Toyota Gazoo Racing SA will certainly go down in history, with Leeroy Poulter becoming only the second person to hold both South African national titles in the same year, after Hannes Grobler managed the same achievement more than two decades ago. Poulter, partnered by Elvéne Coetzee in the Toyota Yaris S2000 rally car, and Rob Howie in the Class FIA Toyota Hilux for cross country races, won all but one of the races he entered for Toyota Gazoo Racing SA in 2016, cementing both championships for the team in the process.

“We had a fantastic year last year,” says Poulter, “and it was a pity that we had to miss out on the Dakar. But I’m fit and healthy and ready to get back to racing.”

Poulter will again be partnered by Howie for the 2017 season. Giniel de Villiers, who finished second in the T1 category in this year’s Dakar (partnered by navigator Dirk von Zitzewitz) will be joining the fray in South Africa, competing alongside former champion navigator Dennis Murphy.

Both crews will compete in Class FIA of the new-look South African national cross country championship, which is now known as the South African Cross Country Series. The recently launched championship now officially encompasses autos and motos, with bikes and cars sharing the same route, albeit at different times for safety reasons.

Toyota Gazoo Racing SA will also compete in two rounds of the FIA World Cup for Cross Country Rallies, as part of their testing and preparation for the ongoing Dakar project. The 2016 World Cup was won by Nasser al-Attiyah and navigator Matthieu Baumel, behind the wheel of a South African built and developed Toyota Hilux.

Al-Attiyah/Baumel will again be in action in a Toyota Hilux during this year’s world cup, and will be joined on a number of rounds by De Villiers and Poulter. Toyota Gazoo Racing SA will compete in the following rounds of the World Cup during 2017:

17-22 April:               Qatar Cross Country Rally

04-10 October:         Rally of Morocco

In addition to these two rounds, Toyota Gazoo Racing SA will also compete in the grueling Silkway Rally, which takes place from 8-22 July this year. This tough event will start on Moscow’s Red Square, before traversing Kazakhstan, and finishing in the Chinese city of Xi’an – a distance of nearly 6,000 km.

Back on home soil, the team will also be represented in the South African National Rally Championship, which now consists mainly of Class R2 cars. Defending champions Guy Botterill and Simon Vacy-Lyle will campaign their locally built and developed Toyota Etios R2 in the championship, flying the flag for Toyota Gazoo Racing SA.

“With representation in both championships, as well as some international races on the cards, we are primed for another great year of motorsport,” says Toyota Gazoo Racing SA Team Principal, Glyn Hall. “We’re also looking forward to further developing the Toyota Hilux, and extremely excited about the positive changes to the South African Cross Country Series (SACCS). However, with the new rules we’ll have to beat all comers to win the championship, so it promises to be a year of tough racing.”

In addition to the two Toyota Gazoo Racing SA crews, a number of privateers will also be competing in Toyota Hilux. Brothers Johan and Werner Horn will again be in action in their Malalane Toyota Hilux, which now features an upgraded engine.

Jason Venter and navigator Vince van Alleman (4x4 Mega World) won the Class T championship for 2016 in their Toyota Hilux, while Otto Graven and Bobby Brewis did the same in their Class S Toyota Hilux. Both crews will again be racing similar vehicles in 2017.

“For us at Toyota SA Motors, motorsport is not only an integral part of our marketing campaign, but is also very close to our hearts. 2016 yielded great results for us, and we are looking forward to the challenges of the new season,” says Glenn Crompton, Toyota SA Motors Vice-President: Marketing. “We are also very excited about expanding our international racing exposure, which is sure to benefit both Leeroy and Giniel.”

Toyota Motorsport South Africa Acknowledges Its Sponsors and Specialist Official Supplier and Technical Partners

Toyota enjoys a mutually beneficial relationship with Total, Toyota Financial Services and the Innovation Group. Also, Imperial Toyota, SKF, Spanjaard, Robor, OMP, NGK, Donaldson, Mastercraft, Edgecam, 3M, Bandit Signs, Shatterprufe, Supreme Springs, Smith’s Manufacturing, TRD, Peritus Forex and First National Battery.



Driver – Leeroy Poulter

Navigator – Rob Howie


Driver – Giniel de Villiers

Navigator – Dennis Murphy

Test and reserve driver – Anthony Taylor


Class FIA Toyota Hilux

2017 Calendar:

Round 1        Lichtenburg                                      31 March – 1April

Round 2        Dundee Battlefields                        12 May – 13 May

Round 3        Toyota 1,000 Desert Race           23 June – 25 June

Round 4        TBC                                                    28 July – 29 July

Round 5        Sun City                                             15 September – 16 September

Round 6        TBC                                                    27 October – 28 October



Driver – Guy Botterill

Navigator – Simon Vacy-Lyle


Class R2 Toyota Etios

2017 Calendar:

Round 1        Tour Natal Rally                               10 March – 11 March

Round 2        York Rally*                                        21 April – 22 April

Round 3        Secunda Motor Rally                      19 May – 20 May

Round 4        Algoa Rally                                       21 July – 22 July

Round 5        Electrothread Rally                         18 August – 19 August

Round 6        Caledon Rally                                  22 September – 23 September

Round 7        Goldfields Rally                               20 October – 21 October


* Part of the African Rally Championship

Follow the fortunes of Toyota Gazoo Racing SA on www.toyota.co.za

Twitter: www.twitter.com/toyotasa

Facebook: www.facebook.com/toyotasouthafrica